When you’re stuck…

What do you do when you’re stuck in a room or have to stop?

Maybe you’ve only budgeted a certain amount per month and you’re out for the month. Or maybe the one thing you need to do is expensive and you just can’t justify spending that right now.

img_0696

Hello, chaise-lounge-I-ve-been-quoted-hundreds-to-recover.

Or maybe you just don’t know what to do and are out of ideas?

My favorite things to do when I reach one or all of these points is to take a break first. I’ll take a few days or a week off of thinking about that project and then re-evaluate.

I’ll think about that while maybe it isn’t design perfect, does it function well? If not, I’ll prioritize fixing that problem first.

img_0531

If it functions, but just isn’t pretty – can I fix it by changing the styling or using inexpensive upgrades like accesories or pillows. I also love to shop my house first and think of new ways I can use things!

Add flowers/plants!

img_1984

  • Paint
  • Buy the fabric and then either save up or look for alternatives for recovering/making custom items
  • Upcycle what you have by adding trim
  • Dream- read blogs, Instagram, Pinterest and you might find new ideas that are different than what you wanted in the first place.
  • Prioritize

Look back on all you’ve done!

I keep a notebook with a page for each room and love to look back on all I’ve accomplished during the year.

Bottom line, things like the One Room Challenge and kitchen makeovers that happen in 30 days are super fun to watch but just aren’t mine or everyone’s life. And that’s ok. Because for me- my house won’t ever be finished. I’ll always be looking for a new pillow, new update, new fun seasonal style. That’s what I love about decorating! There’s always a project to tackle and the fun is in the process.

img_3648

What about you? What do you do when you get stuck?

Leave a Reply

