On Blogging & Summer Supper

I’ve been reading blogs for about 10 years. It first started with food blogs. I was newly married and didn’t know how to cook anything. I mean, anything. In college, one of my roommates said, let’s boil water for spaghetti and I said – Great! How do we do that? ๐Ÿ™‚

I loved the Pioneer Woman for cooking food I wanted to eat and showing step by step phots, which I needed. See also above.

Then, I read healthy living blogs and running blogs and soon discovered lifestyle blogs. I always wanted to have my own blog because I loved reading others but just didn’t have the courage to do it – to put myself out there. What if I got mean comments? What if no one read it?

But, this year, I finally decided to just go for it and do it. Something happened to me and I stopped being afraid. I stopped being afraid to submit my picture book manuscript to agents and publishers. I stopped being afraid to publish photos on a public Instagram account (that more than just my Mom and aunt viewed). I just decided that it’s time to make things happen. To stop being afraid to share what I love because I’m not, and won’t ever be, an interior designer.

So- here I share things that I love. I love updating my house. I love fabric samples. I love pinning things on Pinterest. I love diy, junque shopping, and antiquing. I love reading your blogs, your comments, your photos. So, I’m proud I did this and don’t plan to stop.

That’s enough heavy talk for today – so I thought I’d share a quick recipe!

One of my favorite things to do in the summer is grill. Minimal prep for me and a mostly-clean kitchen? Sign me up!

I thought I would share a yummy Supper we call Grilled Chicken & Bruschetta. It’s not particularly gourmet or original – but it is yummy!

I use a marinade recipe from the Duchess of Fork’s blog, which she has since taken down. She’s now the Destin Duchess – but her chicken marinade has always been my favorite. I don’t have a copy of the original so I’ll just credit her above and tell you how I make it since I do it from memory.

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. soy sauce (I use low sodium)
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp. brown sugar
  • A couple of shakes (or as many as you like) of McCormick’s Montreal Steak spice mix

Stir that with a whisk and marinate! To me, this tastes good if you only have 20 minutes to marinate or 8 hours.

We love to get the Italian 5 grain baguette at Publix and slice that up. I brush both sides with extra virgin olive oil and Hubby grills those while he grills the chicken.

Then, I make the bruschetta mixture. Now, I’ve been to Italy and this isn’t how they make it – but it is yummy! I chop up grape tomatoes and throw them into a bowl. Add a chiffonade of basil and some freshly grated parmesan cheese (get the wedge kind). I’ve also used the shaved kind from Publix in the jar and it’s good too! Add kosher salt and just enough olive oil to pull it together and stir. You can also add pepper but I do not like black pepper so I omit that step!ย  Enjoy bruschetta on top of the grilled baguette!

Add in a salad or some grilled corn and I call that done! What’s your favorite summer supper?

Leave a Reply

