A Few Spring Yard Updates

I’m not one to hurry away the winter but it seems in Charleston, spring has sprung. Or rather, it has never left. We didn’t have much of a winter this year but that doesn’t keep me from being excited about the spring flowers.

I wanted to get my hayrack out of the garage and back on my front porch with some early spring flowers to bring a bit of color to the yard.

I wanted pansies but Lowe’s didn’t have any – so petunias it was! Gigi said purple so that is what we got :).


I stuck with the cardinal rule of a filler, a spiller, and a thriller. My usual combination throughout the year is something tropical and spikey in the back, variegated ivy for the spiller and then a fun colored annual for the filler. I stuck with petunia’s now but will fill in with geraniums as it continues to get warmer.


I had a few left over so I also put a few in the ground.

I couldn’t resist the pretty pink geraniums so I got a few for my porch container.


I also added a new re-blooming azalea to the backyard in between the trees.


I bought some dense shade grass seed and put that down to try to get some grass to grow back there. I really want to try to work on my back yard this year and get it looking nice!
Here’s a few inspiration photos for you.


This beautiful arrangement was from our local garden store, Abide-A-While. It isΒ a beautiful store and they are always so happy to help! I plan on researching other shade plants and ground cover and going back there to ask them what to buy. Love patronizing a local place!



Leave a Reply

