To the Trade…

“To the trade” is a phrase that makes me cringe a little. Not because I think it’s bad when things are exclusive or that working designers shouldn’t get a price break + commissions from items they source for their clients. It’s more because I know it’s not accessible and often it’s exactly what I’m looking for for a particular project.

I thought it might be fun to look at some “to the trade” only items and find comparables that us mere mortals can buy :).

Stark Antelope Rug/Carpet

I feel like this one of the ultimate to the trade item. I lust after this rug and this is so beautiful, timeless, and a super fun twist on the ubiquitous leopard (which, let’s be honest, I’m also a super big fan of).

2017-02-24 (2).png

Ballard does a good antelope rug in a myriad of sizes. If they only had it in a grey coloway it would be in my bedroom right now. I did buy a swatch once – here that is because I’m a hoarder.

antelopeballard


Duralee Trim

Ya’ll know from my The wrong shade of green? post that I wanted to add some curtains with a fun trim. Maybe a greek key? I went to a local fabric shop and found the cutest Duralee brand one. See below.


They quote me the price of $62.50 per yard. Umm folks, just no.

So, I hopped over to Etsy and found this- which I will promptly be ordering. $17.50/yd – still pricey but muuuuch  better!

Etsy Tape Trim

Schumacher Fabrics and Wallcoverings

These fabrics are gorgeous! And their wallpaper is to die for. But there are tons of sources that can give you the same look without using a designer.

 

2017-02-24 (4).png

Thibault also has some gorgeous stuff. It looks like it is more readily available – but you still need to go through a design center or fabric store.  My mom has this in her guest bathroom.

T36105-medium.jpg

There’s even removable wallpaper now – which is pretty neat and great for those who rent or who just don’t want to fully commit to paper – because that stuff is a pain to get off!

2017-02-24 (6).png

How fun is this Spoonflower fabric for a boy nursery! πŸ™‚

And Ballard has Imperial Trellis – which I love in any room.

imperial-trellis

Lighting

urban-betty

Lighting is another place where it seems like the pros have all the hookups. Urban Electric Co and Robert Abbey are beautiful.

But Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware, online store/VA based Shades of Light and even your local lighting store are bound to have the look you want! Also – don’t overlook places like Joss and Main or One Kings Lane for discounts.

I think today you don’t have to have a designer to have access to the designer-grade resources – you just have to hunt a little bit. And, for me, the hunt is half the fun!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “To the Trade…

  1. Pingback: Ballard Love | Snee Farm Charm

  2. Pingback: Dream Living Room | Snee Farm Charm

  3. Pingback: Friday Insta Faves is back!Β  | Snee Farm Charm

Leave a Reply

