Bedroom Part One – Desk/Vanity Nook

My master bedroom is one of those rooms that has puzzled me for a while. I knew I would paint it Revere Pewter (Benjamin Moore) before we moved in and I knew I would use my mom’s chaise lounge and my matelesse coverlet for the bed and that was it!

We don’t have an office in this house so we have a few office “nooks” around the house.

The one in my bedroom serves as a vanity for me as well as a place for me to write. I’ve been working on a children’s book for a while and have been wanted a comfy chair and place to sit and work/edit my book.


I painted this old Pottery Barn x back chair that used to be in our dining room. It has always been comfortable and I thought the height and the x detail would look good in this corner. I used “Paris Grey” by Annie Sloan and ended up adding about 1/4 tsp of “Emperors Silk” to it to cut the blue tone. I think I should have gone with a more greige/brown tone so I think I’ll be repainting. I haven’t added the wax on it yet so should be easy to repaint.

This piano desk has been in my room since my 1st college apartment. I love all the drawers and how you can flip the top down if it’s messy.

I have my makeup in vintage sugar and creamers from my grandmother’s wedding set. I also use one of those for writing pens. The makeup mirror is not beautiful but it is necessary! 

I love to sit here and research, edit, and re-write my book.  

The rest of the nook is my fake fiddle leaf fig (I didn’t even try a real one in our dark house) and some mirrors I got from Homegoods for 7.99. They are plastic but look like good Ballard fakes from far away.



You’ll notice that I didn’t get rid of the mother of pearl inlaid garden stool from HomeGoods. While it didn’t look good as a bedside table (my original idea), I think it looks cute here under the window with some books stacked on top-books are my favorite accessory to style!


Here’s a few fun pictures from Pinterest that I’d love to use for inspiration. Definitely think I need a lamp! 


 

One thought on “Bedroom Part One – Desk/Vanity Nook

  1. Pingback: Guest Room Inspiration | Snee Farm Charm

Leave a Reply

