The wrong shade of green?

When we found this house, my mom and I started working on the color scheme. We did a lot of red in my last house and I wanted to move away from that. I picked out a few paint colors that I absolutely wanted to use and we decided that our color theme would be blue/green/navy with white accents.

I pulled this inspiration photo from Southern Living at the time as how I wanted my dining room to look. We searched for the right paint color. The article cites the color as “shadesof wheat” from Pantone.

2017-01-25 (2).png*Photo from Southern Living Pinterest page, January 2014

We ended up with “Hint of Lime” from Valspar on the walls.

Some days, I think it’s cool to have a lime green dining room and other days I think – should we tone this down a little? ๐Ÿ™‚

green.jpg

I loved the ikat fabric for the chairs and the palm prints I’ve had since my first condo. The bar cart is fun to style for the seasons and I love seeing my wedding china every time I walk into the room. My daughter eats and paints here so we haven’t put any furniture other than the Disney sort in the otherย corner.

I think the room could use another long table, perhaps sideboard- style and definitely some curtains. I’m thinking heavy white curtains with some green trim – greek key maybe – ala Erin Gates?

2017-01-25 (3).png

*Photo from Pinterest. Design ideas and more at my favorite design blog, Elements of style!

I’ve also been thinking about painting the chairs white. I’ve been eyeing an indoor/outdoor seagrass or neutral rug for the floor. Indoor/Outdoor because I do have a preschooler and a dog!

Here are a few options from Ballard that I like! I’m digging that zebra one but maybe I already have a lot going on in here?

There’s been a lot of design talk on Instagram and also on blogs that I follow about the 2017 Pantone color of the year – Greenery. I think my color is a bit more limey-yellow than Greenery but maybe this makes me on trend? That is rare for me with my traditional style :).

2017-01-25-5

I think I’ll make some updates like the above and then decide once and for all about the color. What do you think?? ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “The wrong shade of green?

  1. Pingback: To the Trade… | Snee Farm Charm

  2. Pingback: Friday Insta Faves -St. Patty’s Day Edition | Snee Farm Charm

  3. Pingback: Friday Insta Faves 4.28.17 | Snee Farm Charm

  4. Pingback: Guest Room Inspiration | Snee Farm Charm

  5. Pingback: For the Love…of Green | Snee Farm Charm

Leave a Reply

