Living Room Part One – The Before…

living-room

Welcome to my living room!  When we first looked at this house, this was one of the rooms that I was really excited to decorate. I would call it my most “finished” room but I’m still looking to make some updates. This is the view from the kitchen/eat-in dining area (that we use as a playroom :)).  My parents gave us the rug and I think it really works with the pillows and ottomans. Not sure if I’ll keep it forever but it is perfect for now! Those white chairs were my grandmother’s and have never been recovered. We added a custom pillow for some pattern on there but I think they need to be recovered in a fun fabric.

img_3649

Next view is of the first set of bookshelves. We had these shallow bookshelves made when we first moved in to flank the windows. This room has the most natural light of any room in our house and I love the plantation shutters. I love a styled bookshelf but the bottom 2 shelves are for books, puzzles and everyone’s favorite game – Yeti in my Spaghetti. Seriously, if you have a 3 year old – get it! #momlife.  Gotta keep it real!

IMG_3651.JPG

We have a brick fireplace and I love styling that by the seasons. I’m in mourning right now for all my Christmas decorations so I need to give this mantle some love this week.

xmas mantle.jpg

I also added birch logs to the fireplace and the ottomans were made by a fabric store in my hometown in North Carolina. Love those!

I’ve thought about replacing those sconces but I love that they are original to the house and I’m really loving the brass!

img_3652

My husband built this TV stand to go in the corner so we didn’t have to put the TV over the fireplace. I feel like there’s not much I can do here.

IMG_3650.JPG

Next is the couch. This is an original canvas painting from my grandmother’s house. I think it needs 2 pictures on each side for a grid effect? Also we had these pillows made from the same ikat fabric as the chairs in our dining room. I think it really works with the wall color (Benjamin Moore’s Palladian Blue).

IMG_3653.JPG

The final wall section really needs some help :). We bought this painting on our honeymoon in Venice.  It used to be over the fireplace but I recently moved it here. It’s definitely too small for the space but what else to put here? If I do the grid over the sofa, I think too many pictures here will look like too much.

So – that’s it! I think there are some good starts here but definitely some work to do. Would love to hear ideas/thoughts that you have!

Next post will be some inspiration pictures and my makeover plan for this room.

One thought on “Living Room Part One – The Before…

  1. Pingback: Guest Room Inspiration | Snee Farm Charm

Leave a Reply

